The Municipality of Katipunan is situated in the northwestern side of Zamboanga del Norte. It is approximately between the altitude of 8 degrees 19 minutes north and longitude 123 degrees 14 minutes and 123 degrees 21 minutes east. It is bounded in the west by the municipality of Roxas, on the south by the municipality of Sergio OsmeƱa, on the east by the City of Dipolog and on the north by Sulu/Mindanao Sea. It is about. 719.0 kilometers South of Manila and 15.0 kilometers away from the Dipolog City (Map 1).

It has a total land area of 24,412 hectares more or less and divided into thirty barangays within its political jurisdiction (Map 2).

The municipality of Katipunan has a generally rugged terrain. Its barangays are situated on the top of hills except the lowland barangays of Barangay Uno, Barangay Dos, Daanglungsod, New Tambo, San Antonio, Tuburan and northern part of Dr. Jose Rizal.